Latest News


Parish Appointments

Archbishop Malcolm has announced the following Clergy Appointments to become effective in March:

  • Fr Chris McCoy takes up appointment as assistant priest at the Metropolitan Cathedral.
  • Fr Mark Beattie becomes parish priest of St Bede, Clayton Green, and St Chad, South Hill.
  • Fr Liam Collister becomes parish priest at St Oswald and St Sebastian, Liverpool.
  • Fr David Potter will temporarily be parochial administrator of St Columba and St John Fisher, Huyton and Knowsley Village.
  • Fr Joseph Simionato FDP will temporarily provide pastoral care for Our Lady of Walsingham, Netherton.

Appointment of Deans

The terms of office of deans expired on 29th February. In view of Synod 2020, and the likely restructuring of Pastoral Areas that will ensue, the following appointments became effective from 1st March 2020 and will be for one year only.
  • Bootle & Litherland - Fr Barry McAllister
  • Chorley - Fr Graeme Dunne
  • Crosby - Mgr. Canon John Furnival
  • Croxteth and Walton - Canon Chris Fallon
  • Isle of Man - Mgr. John Devine
  • Knowsley - Fr Andrew Rowlands
  • Leigh - Fr Paul Seddon
  • Leyland - Fr Michael O'Dowd
  • Liverpool North - Fr Conor Stainton-Polland
  • Liverpool South - Canon Tony O'Brien
  • Ormskirk & Maghull - Fr Grant Maddock
  • St Helens - Canon Tom Neylon
  • Southport - Fr Atli Jónsson
  • Upholland - Fr John Hindley
  • Warrington - Fr David Heywood
  • Widnes - Fr Michael Fitzsimons
  • Wigan - Fr Aidan Kelly
  • Woolton & Halewood - Fr Stephen Pritchard